Like Us for a Discount See us on YouTube Tweet
Returning Students: Course Login
California Driver's Permit, Drivers Education, Lessons, Tests
LOGIN

6. California Licensing & Registration

Page 1 of 16 Next » Back to Lessons   Quiz  

123
10. Laws Governing Your License

If you successfully complete all the procedures, requirements, and examinations for a license, you will be issued a temporary (paper) license which will permit you to operate a motor vehicle for a period of 60 days, or until your actual license has been issued or refused.


You are periodically (usually every 4 or 5 years) required to renew your driver license. You will have to pay a license renewal fee and may have to take a vision, written, or driving test.


If you fail the written test three times or are unable to pass the visual acuity test during a license renewal, you will be required to take a behind-the-wheel driving test.


The holder of a drivers license shall have it in his or her possession whenever driving a car.


You must show your driver license to law enforcement officers when requested to do so, and, in case of an accident, to other drivers and persons involved.


If you change your address, you must notify DMV within 10 days.


If you change your name, you must appear at a DMV office to obtain a new license.


You must appear at a DMV office to replace a damaged or lost license. If your license is replaced and you find the old one later, you must destroy the old one.


DMV provides organ donor cards which can be carried with your license. Organ donation has saved thousands of lives, many of which were endangered by injuries due to traffic accidents.


The DMV provides cards which can provide emergency medical information and which can be carried with your license.


The law requires that you report accidents involving more than $750 worth of damage, or injury (no matter how slight), or death of any person, to the DMV within 10 days using the Traffic Accident Report form (SR 1). You must make this report, whether you caused the accident or not, even if the accident occurred on private property.


You may report an unsafe driver by sending a signed letter to DMV identifying the driver and stating why you believe his or her ability to drive is impaired -- if you request it, your name will be kept confidential to the extent that the law allows.




Lesson Summary


  

Lesson 6 Quiz


You will now answer 5 questions to test what you learned during this lesson. You must answer all questions correctly to receive completion credit for this lesson. You may answer the questions as many times as necessary to get them right.

You should review the lesson material if you don't do well on the quiz.

  1. Which of the following is NOT on the permit test:


    1.   
    2.   
    3.   
    4.   


  2. The "PROVISIONS" of your provisional license include the following, EXCEPT:


    1.   
    2.   
    3.   
    4.   


  3. You will be listed as a "Negligent Operator" if you get:


    1.   
    2.   
    3.   
    4.   


  4. The best way to prepare for the drive test is to:


    1.   
    2.   
    3.   
    4.   


  5. If you have trouble reading, even if in English, you may take an audio permit test:


    1.   
    2.   
    3.   
    4.   



  

Page 1 of 16 Next »  Back to Lessons  Quiz  




Start Now! Get your California Drivers Ed Certificate