Like Us for a Discount See us on YouTube Tweet
Returning Students: Course Login
California Driver's Permit, Drivers Education, Lessons, Tests
LOGIN

6. California Licensing & Registration

Page 1 of 16 Next » Back to Lessons   Quiz  

118
5. The Driver License (cont.)

There are different requirements for obtaining licenses for persons previously licensed in another US state or territory, or in another country, which may include a waiver of the driving test. You are only allowed to drive in California for 10 days before obtaining a California license, if you are going to live here.

A driver license issued to a person younger than 18 years of age is called a provisional license. A provisional license is, basically, a temporary license that allows you to gain driving experience, until you reach the age of 18. It is called "provisional" because it has certain provisions attached to it, as opposed to a regular driver license. NOBODY obtains a full drivers license until the age of 18 .

To obtain a provisional instruction permit you can be no younger than 15-1/2 years old.

You must be 21 years of age or older to apply for a license to drive commercial vehicles if used in interstate commerce or to transport hazardous materials.

In addition to other licensing requirements, provisional license applicants must complete 50 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel driving practice, 10 of which must be at night.

To obtain a driver license you:

  • must be in the US legally
  • must provide proof of age, residence, and social security number
  • may be required to have completed a driver education and a driver training course (if under 17.5 years of age)
  • must give a thumb print
  • must pass a vision test
  • a written test showing that you understand the traffic laws of California, and a behind-the-wheel test of your driving skills
  • You can call to make appointments at the DMV to apply for your license and take your tests, instead of waiting in line. Check your phone book for the number of the office nearest you or for a DMV telephone service center.

    When you complete the application process, you must be prepared to have your photograph taken and it cannot be taken at a later time. Your license will be mailed to you by DMV.

    If you use a false name or knowingly make false statements on your license application, your license will be denied, and if it was already issued, it will be revoked.

    Fees must be paid to:

  • obtain an original license
  • renew a license
  • reinstate a license if it has been revoked or suspended
  • obtain a duplicate license
  • upgrade your license to another class or add an endorsement
  • resubmit an application for a license if you fail three written tests or three driving tests

  • Click on pictures to see full-size image




    Lesson Summary


      

    Lesson 6 Quiz


    You will now answer 5 questions to test what you learned during this lesson. You must answer all questions correctly to receive completion credit for this lesson. You may answer the questions as many times as necessary to get them right.

    You should review the lesson material if you don't do well on the quiz.

    1. The best way to prepare for the drive test is to:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    2. Which of the following is NOT on the permit test:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    3. The "PROVISIONS" of your provisional license include the following, EXCEPT:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    4. You will be listed as a "Negligent Operator" if you get:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    5. If you have trouble reading, even if in English, you may take an audio permit test:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   



      

    Page 1 of 16 Next »  Back to Lessons  Quiz  




    Start Now! Get your California Drivers Ed Certificate