Returning Students: Course Login
California Driver's Permit, Drivers Education, Lessons, Tests
LOGIN

3. Psychological & Physiological

Page 1 of 43 Next » Back to Lessons   Quiz  

56
42. Cellular Phones

Cellular telephones, including wireless phones, mobile phones, and smartphones, are everywhere. In an emergency they can be a lifesaver. In non-emergency situations they can be a great tool if you use the cellular phone in a safe and responsible manner.

Research has shown that drivers are at a much higher risk for being in an accident within a few minutes of using a cellular phone. Surprisingly, it appears that it is the emotional impact of the phone conversation, not the act of talking per se, that results in increased accident risk.

Minors and Cell Phones

  • It is against the law for a person under the age of 18 to use a cell phone while driving. Period. Even if the cell phone is equipped with a hands-free device. If your cell phone rings, do not answer the cell or respond to the text message.
  • Convictions for violations of this law are subject to fines.

  • Exceptions
    You may use a cell phone to contact law enforcement, a health care provider, the fire department, or another emergency entity in an emergency situation.

    Cell Phone Rules for Persons 18 Years and Older

    People aged 18 years and older also cannot drive a motor vehicle while holding and operating a handheld wireless telephone or an electronic wireless communications device, unless:

  • The device is specifically designed and configured to allow voice-operated and hands-free operation, and it is used in that manner while driving.
  • The device is part of a manufacturer-installed system that is embedded in the vehicle.

  • A handheld wireless telephone or electronic wireless communications device may be operated in a manner requiring the use of the driver’s hand while the driver is operating the vehicle only if both of the following conditions are satisfied:

  • The handheld wireless telephone or electronic wireless communications device is mounted on a vehicle’s windshield or is mounted on or affixed to a vehicle’s dashboard or center console in a manner that does not hinder the driver’s view of the road.
  • The driver’s hand is used to activate or deactivate a feature or function of the handheld wireless telephone or wireless communications device with the motion of a single swipe or tap of the driver’s finger.

  • More from the DMV...

    Here's a DMV video about California "hands free" cell phone laws. Pay special attention to how the law applies to persons under 18 years of age.






    Lesson Summary


      

    Lesson 3 Quiz


    You will now answer 5 questions to test what you learned during this lesson. You must answer all questions correctly to receive completion credit for this lesson. You may answer the questions as many times as necessary to get them right.

    You should review the lesson material if you don't do well on the quiz.

    1. When listening to your car radio, or other audio device:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    2. Your "Field of Vision" is:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    3. The colorless, odorless and poisonous gas from the exhaust is called:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    4. A vehicles' "blind spots" are:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    5. The "P" in the SIPDE process stands for:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   



      

    Page 1 of 43 Next »  Back to Lessons  Quiz  




    Start Now! Get your California Drivers Ed Certificate