Like Us for a Discount See us on YouTube Tweet
Returning Students: Course Login
California Driver's Permit, Drivers Education, Lessons, Tests
LOGIN

8. Rules of the Road

Page 1 of 19 Next » Back to Lessons   Quiz  

232
18. Kaitlyn's Law & Child Restraints

Kaitlyn's Law

A parent, legal guardian, or other person responsible for a child who is six years of age or younger may not leave that child inside a motor vehicle without being subject to the supervision of a person who is 12 years of age or older, under either of the following circumstances:

  • Where there are conditions that present a significant risk to the child's health or safety
  • When the vehicle's engine is running or the vehicle's keys are in the ignition, or both.

  • Child Restraint Systems (Effective January 1, 2012)

    The age limit for children who must be restrained in a child safety seat when riding in a motor vehicle has been raised. This new law prohibits a parent, legal guardian, or driver from transporting any child under eight years old in a motor vehicle without securing the child in an appropriate child passenger restraint system that meets applicable federal motor vehicle safety standards. A child under eight years of age who is 4 feet 9 inches in height or taller may be properly restrained by a safety belt rather than a child passenger restraint system. the new bill imposes fines and penalties for these violations.

    Lesson Summary


      

    Lesson 8 Quiz


    You will now answer 5 questions to test what you learned during this lesson. You must answer all questions correctly to receive completion credit for this lesson. You may answer the questions as many times as necessary to get them right.

    You should review the lesson material if you don't do well on the quiz.

    1. A right-turn-on-red can be made, at a red arrow:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    2. Entering an intersection before you can safely cross through it, and blocking it:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    3. In California, changing lanes in the middle of an intersection:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    4. You must use your turn signal


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   


    5. The minimum speed limit in California is:


      1.   
      2.   
      3.   
      4.   



      

    Page 1 of 19 Next »  Back to Lessons  Quiz  




    Start Now! Get your California Drivers Ed Certificate